Meet the Team

 

 

Bob Karlsson

Business Owner

Likes: Family, swimming, coffee, good movies, travel

Dislikes: Vegemite, dishonesty

About Me: 

InHouse is a big part of me. I started it from scratch and it’s amazing where it is going—thanks also to the others involved. When not at work I have simple tastes: fresh air, a good cup of coffee, peace—and by the way, it’s me that makes the coffee. I’m happy to potter around at home, fixing things. My Saturday treat is a cheese platter by the pool with my wife and poodle. We are now the family elders, as all parents have passed. Spending time with the grandchildren is a good way to pass the time and it’s great to watch them grow and develop.

I was born in Stockholm and have been back twice to see parents and family, once accompanied by our eight-year-old granddaughter, who had never seen snow.

Diane Karlsson

Business Owner

Likes: Fresh air, travelling, reading educational books

Dislikes: Arrogance, selfies, lockdowns

About Me: 

I was born in England, had my 3 girls in New Zealand, and I have been living in Australia for over 40 years, and now have 15 grandchildren and 1 great granddaughter.

I was a hairdresser by trade for 20 years and held various cooking positions for catteries. I worked for a couple of printing companies before Bob started our business, so I wasn’t a complete novice. I love to read books and garden, but the garden takes up most of my hobby time. We have 33 fruit trees on our 600m square block, and they take a bit of looking after.

Mikaylah Matthews-Mullen

Bookstore Manager

 

Likes: Family, music, and the ocean

Dislikes: Hypocrites, invalidation of others' opinions, and mosquitos 

About Me: 

I am a very family-orientated person and have been blessed with the best. I have three incredible siblings (Jamon, Sam and Charlie), a beautiful mother – Chrisstie (lead designer and one of the OG’s here at InHouse) and an awesome stepdad – Dean.

Outside of work, you’ll find me at any one of two places. 1) Hanging with Mum and Dean or 2) Out on the water with a fishing line in the ocean, pretending I have all the patience in the world.

Courtney Dunn

Bookstore Assistant

Likes: Books, Greek mythology, anime, dogs, Japanese food, photography

Dislikes: Asparagus, crowded public transport, animal cruelty, loud chewing, mumbling

About Me: My rescue German Shepherd, Rasta, is the most important part of my life. When I am not playing with him in the garden or taking him on walks, we are usually curled up on the couch reading fantasy books  or watching anime – Rasta and I are all about the quiet life. When I am not working, I am studying for my master’s degree in writing, editing and publishing. While at university, I spend a lot of time rewriting and modernising Greek myths.

Elaelah Harley

Bookstore Assistant

 Likes: Creative writing, lists, sooky dogs, music, movie marathons and Korean hot pot

Dislikes: Feeling disorganised, dark rooms, and salad onions

About Me: I have been writing books ever since I can remember – with one of my first readable stories being a Winnie the Pooh fanfiction (there were a lot of spelling mistakes). I love to hang out with friends and family, but I also need my alone time to recharge, with a good book or a favourite movie. When I’m not working, writing or studying my Masters of Editing and Publishing, I’m usually driving somewhere. I often do the weekend trip to my hometown in Kingaroy, where I see my Great Dane Ophelia, Bertie the chocolate Labrador and Ganesh the stoic Tabby.

Debbie Davison

Administration

Likes: Everything about my life now

Dislikes: Snakes (the reptilian type) and two-legged (human versions) and warm wine

About Me:

I am the mother of three very grown children and the very proud grandmother
of three grandchildren all of whom are the lights in my life, and I can never get
enough Nana time I have two little pug cross fur babies Bella and Peggy-Sue and
a crazy galah named Luna (short for Lunatic), who keep me amused and busy.

I have rediscovered my love of life, Parkrun, dance both rock & roll and modern jive
and how much fun life can be with my chosen family of friends who appreciate
me for being me even on my wacky days. I also appreciate my gardening, reading,
dancing and cooking and entertaining my friends and family in my own home.